Netherlands vs France

grolsch

The Dutch Cup
Grolsch

Dutch beer stew

The Dutch Plate
Beef stew with beer and dumplings, red cabbage and apple on the side

Score

little m
4 and half stars
It was nice to come home on Friday to this hearty beef stew cooking in the oven. The meat was nice and tender and the beer based sauce wasn’t over powering and only faintly hinted at it’s beer origins. The dumplings were also delicious – the only way I can think to make this dish better would be to perhaps throw a few vegetables in the pot next time to make it a bit healthier. This time we had red cabbage and apple to balance the meal, but I’m not sure if that’s authentic or not.

Big M
4 stars (cup)
4 and half stars (plate)

What a cup this is. The bottle is quite classy with the flip top, I will re-use it for my home brew. The lager inside is also classy. As mentioned before I don’t drink lagers often but every time I have a Grolsch I enjoy it.
4 stars.

The plate was even better! I used my own summer ale home brew in this recipe. It is a relatively dark ale, I would also suggest a German wheat ale (Dunkel). The beef had melted into the dish and the bread dumplings were there to soak up the beer gravy. The red cabbage and apple on the side topped off a wonderful meal. Let it be known that I do love a Beef in Guinness with dumplings, so I think I was always going to love this one.
4 and half stars.

One Response to Netherlands vs France

  1. Syrie says:

    I actually thought I was quite full from my dinner but looking at this beef stew has made me hungry again. Looks great!

Leave a Reply

